Spread the Love

If you’re into health and wellness, you’ve probably heard about chakras in a meditation course, a yoga class, or a reiki session. But what are chakras exactly and how do they impact your well-being? Well, we’ll break down this mystical concept for you in this quick beginner’s guide.

What are Chakras? 

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that means “disk” or “wheel.” Interestingly, in ancient Hindu texts, it was first seen as chakravartin or the powerful king spinning the wheel of his empire. Today, chakras refer to psychic energy centers in the body. The chakra system is responsible for distributing and circulating life force energy or prana throughout the body. It follows that in order for them to work at their best, your chakras need to be balanced. When a chakra becomes blocked, you may feel physical or emotional symptoms associated with that specific chakra. While many believe there are 114 chakras in the body, you have 7 primary chakras running along your spine. Your chakras begin at the base of your spine up to the crown of your head. Now, let’s talk about each of the 7 chakras in more detail.

7 Chakras

The 7 Chakras

What Are the 7 Primary Chakras?

Root Chakra

Located at the base of your spine, the root chakra or Muladhara serves as our foundation. It is red in color. When the root chakra is balanced, we feel grounded and secure. But when there is a block, you might feel threatened and unstable.

Root Chakra

First Chakra: Root Chakra

Sacral Chakra

Represented by the color orange, you can find the sacral chakra or Svadhisthana a little below the belly button. This chakra relates to our self-worth and more particularly to sexual energy and creativity. When blockages occur in the sacral chakra it can lead to feeling a loss of control in life.

Second Chakra: Sacral Chakra

Second Chakra: Sacral Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra

Manipura or the solar plexus chakra can be found in the stomach area. A healthy flow makes you feel in touch with your own power and destiny. Feeling confident indicates that the solar plexus chakra is balanced. But when there is a blockage, you might feel ashamed and doubtful of yourself and your abilities. By the way, its color is yellow.

Third Chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra

Third Chakra: Solar Plexus Chakra

Heart Chakra

The chakra connected to love and compassion is the heart chakra or Anahata. It’s located close to your heart. The color of this chakra is green. Responsible for bringing us our ability to give and receive love, the heart chakra is at our center. Experiencing harmonious relationships with people, pets, or nature around you, keeps the heart center balanced. On the contrary, feeling lonely and isolated indicates a potential blockage.

Fourth Chakra: Heart Chakra

Fourth Chakra: Heart Chakra

Throat Chakra

The throat chakra or Vishuddha, is represented by the color blue. It affects our ability to express ourselves verbally. At its best, you’re able to communicate your truth to others. Not having a balanced throat chakra, may lead you to have the tendency to gossip, speak without thinking or struggle to share your thoughts.

Fifth Chakra - Throat Chakra

Fifth Chakra: Throat Chakra

Third Eye Chakra

You can find the third eye chakra or Ajna at the center of the forehead between the brows. Since it is considered “the seat of the intuition,” this chakra is responsible for self-reflection, clear thought, imagination, and spiritual contemplation. It follows that with the help of the third eye chakra, we are able to have on-the-mark gut feelings and achieve our deepest purpose. Symbolized by the color indigo, the third eye chakra is often connected to clairvoyance. When the third eye is open, you may be able to perceive things beyond the five senses. It also infers that you might have a block if you question the accuracy of your own intuition or begin to doubt your purpose.

Third Eye Ajna Chakra

Sixth Chakra: Ajna Chakra

Crown Chakra

The highest among the chakras is the crown chakra or Sahasrara positioned at the top of your head. People identify it with the color violet. Also, known as the chakra of enlightenment, the crown chakra affects our capability to be truly connected. It follows that people who have a blocked crown chakra may be stubborn, suspicious, or narrow-minded.

Seventh Chakra: Crown Chakra

Seventh Chakra: Crown Chakra


Creative Ways to Promote Chakra Alignment and Balance

Experiencing emotional distress such as losing a job, having a marital dispute, or experiencing trauma may indicate blocked chakras. EveryBody In Mind Wellness Center has products and wellness technologies that can help address blocked chakras. Perhaps you can try the 7-Chakra Crystal Healing Bed or maybe purchase some crystals in our online store.